Animal Info -> Birds -> Classification Of Birds

Classifications of birds

The general scientific classification of birds is as follows:

Kingdom: Animalia
Subkingdom: Eumetazoa
Phylum: Chordata
Subphylum: Vertebrata
Superclass: Tetrapoda
Class: Aves

Birds are generally identified by their feathers. In general there are about ten thousand species of birds in the world and they are grouped into 30 different orders. But for easy understanding and references the scientists and researchers have divided the bird species into the following categories.

This category classification is done by grouping the birds that have same characteristic and behavior. Below is the list for types of birds.

Types of birds:

  • Avocet
  • Eastern Bluebirds
  • Catbirds
  • Doves
  • Bald Eagle
  • Flamingo
  • Geese
  • Herons
  • Kingfishers
  • Magpie
  • Owls
  • Penguins
  • Peafowls
  • Quails
  • Roadrunners
  • Sparrows
  • Vultures
  • Woodpeckers



Animals World

Recent Updatesanimals worlds recent updates