Reptiles Facts

  • Reptiles are ectothermic, which means they get their body heat from external sources. They cannot regulate their body temperature.
  • Reptiles are the longest lived species on the planet. For example tortoises can live more than 150 years, alligators can live nearly 70 years.
  • Reptile’s body is covered in scales or they have a bony external plate called shell.
  • Reptiles cannot chew their food, they can only tear it.

Classification of Reptiles

Scientist classifies the reptiles present in the world into four main groups known as orders. The four groups are as follows:

  • Crocodilia
  • Sphenodonita
  • Squamata
  • Testudines

The large reptiles such as crocodiles, alligators, caimans and gavials belong to the order Crocodilia. The reptiles in the crocodilia are carnivorous and are mostly found in tropical and subtropical swaps and rivers. This order is the subclass of Archosauria (ruling reptile). Dinosaurs the extinct reptile belong to this order.


The terrestrial reptiles such as lizards and snakes belong to Squamata order. The members of this species have the ability to creep with the help of their abdomen.


The turtle and tortoise creatures belong to the Testudines order. These species have bony shell with horny plates for their protection. These are mostly aquatic and are the oldest living reptile in the world.


Sphenodonita order composes of a single member called Tuatara. It is lizard like reptile found in the lands of New Zealand.

Recent Videos

Snowball(TM) Rocks The World Science Festival
Very Smart Mathematical Dog

From the Gallery