Reptiles Facts

  • Reptiles are ectothermic, which means they get their body heat from external sources. They cannot regulate their body temperature.
  • Reptiles are the longest lived species on the planet. For example tortoises can live more than 150 years, alligators can live nearly 70 years.
  • Reptile’s body is covered in scales or they have a bony external plate called shell.
  • Reptiles cannot chew their food, they can only tear it.

Animals that have scales and the ability to creep are called Reptiles. Since the animals have the ability to creep they got the name Reptiles (meaning to creep). Reptiles are cold blooded animals that live on the world since the Dinosaurs period. The Dinosaurs is the biggest and the extinct species of the reptiles.

Today about 6500 species of reptiles survive in the world. Those include crocodiles, snakes, lizards and turtles. Reptiles are covered with scales to protect themselves. Reptiles are capable of living on both land and in water. The body structure of the reptiles is designed to make them adapt to survive both on land and in water. The feet of the reptiles have claws in their toes and the body is covered with scaly skins. To know more about the structure of the reptiles refer to the Reptiles Anatomy.

Reptiles are cold blooded animals. They regulate their body temperature by adapting to the outside temperatures. To keep them warm they stay in the sun and to keep them cold they stay in the water or hide under the ground or rock. Reptiles are air breathing animals and give birth to the young one by laying eggs. Usually reptiles breathe through lungs but sometimes they can suck up oxygen in the water through the membranes present in the mouth.

For more information on characteristics of reptiles refer to: Reptiles Characteristics

The class reptiles are classified into four main groups. They are Crocodilia, Sphenodonita, Squamata, and Testudines. To know more about the classifications refer to Classification of Reptiles

Recent Videos

Snowball(TM) Rocks The World Science Festival
Very Smart Mathematical Dog

From the Gallery